



## Launch of the Joint European Commission - Committee of the Regions Pilot Action on Partnerships for Regional Innovation

17 May 2022, Brussels, Berlaymont Building, Rue de la Loi 200, Room S.9

10:30-11:00 Registration and Coffee

## 11:00 - 11:30 Opening Session

Moderator Markku Markkula, Vice-President of the Committee of the Regions (CoR)

- Elisa Ferreira, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms
- Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth
- Apostolos Tzitzikostas, President of the CoR

11:30 - 11:35 Break

## 11:35 – 12:30 Session two: Commitment and Expectations of Regions and Cities

Moderator: Anne Karjalainen, Chair of the SEDEC Commission, CoR

- Birgitta Sacradeus, Chairperson of the Regional Development Committee, Region Dalarna Mid Sweden (SE)
- Emil Boc, Mayor of Cluj-Napoca (RO)
- Leonidas Athinadis, Deputy Governor North Aegean region (EL)
- Pedro Faria e Castro, Regional Undersecretary of the Presidency of the Azores Government (PT)
- Tanja Hristova, Mayor of Grabovo Municipality (BG)
- Valle Miguélez, Regional Minister for Enterprise, Employment, Universities and Spokesperson of the Region of Murcia (ES)

12:30 – 12:35 Break

## 12:35-13:30 Session three: Implementation Priorities and Challenges

Moderator Markku Markkula, Vice-President of the Committee of the Regions (CoR)

- Daniela Ferrara. Responsible for Regional, National and Structural Funds at the Directorate General for Knowledge, Research, Labour, Enterprises. Emilia Romagna (IT).
- Ewa Draus. Deputy Marshal of the Podkarpackie region. (PL)
- Istvan Szabo, Vice-President of the National Research Development and Innovation Office (HU)
- Kevin Morgan. Scientific Committee member
- Mikel Landabaso, Director of Innovation and Growth, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
- Pablo Cortes Achedad, General Secretary of Business, Innovation and Entrepreneurship of Junta de Andalucía (ES)